Everyone in the NHL dreams of winning the cup. But one official, after a goofy mishap last night, is probably just wanting a CUP – period.
During the first period of a game between St. Louis and Florida, Blues defenseman Robert Bortuzzo tried to dump the puck into the zone, but instead lobbed it right toward referee Tim Peel. Peel did try to get out of the way, but instead took the full impact of the shot……right where it hurts the most. The puck then took a miraculous bounce straight past Panthers goalie Roberto Luongo and into the net. It’s pretty wild, take a look…
Now, it would’ve been a miracle goal…..except the NHL has a rule that applies specifically to this case. Okay, not the hitting-the-ref-in-the-nether-regions part. BUT there is a rule that says any puck that deflects off an official and directly into the net cannot be ruled a goal.
Peel was, understandably, shaken up after the play. But after a time out in the locker room, he did return to the game. Purple heart, buddy…..purple heart! ~ Jason